Volunteers recognised for over 100 years’ service

6th November 2015 Fraser Bedwell

The highest award is the President’s Award, only a few of which are presented annually. In 2015 three President’s Awards were presented to three remarkable volunteers who have given over 100 years dedicated service between them!

Janet Gillespie, left in photo above, has been a volunteer for 63 years and Ann Robertson, right, has been involved for over 40 years. We were delighted to present the ladies with their awards at the Scottish Parliament. They received framed certificates and a gold poppy from Poppyscotland President, Lieutenant General Sir Alistair Irwin, and the Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament, the Rt Hon Tricia Marwick MSP.

George Davidson President's Award

At an earlier event in Inverness, volunteer George Davidson, received his President’s Award from Sir Alistair Irwin.

We extend our deepest thanks to George, Janet and Ann for their exceptional and much appreciated service.

Find out more about volunteering for Poppyscotland here

(Main photo: Scottish Parliament)